Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Smoky Hill Education Service Center



Ajax Loading Image


27th Annual Scramble for Schools

Golf Tournament Brings in Thousands of Dollars for KS Schools

Smoky Hill Education Foundation’s 27th annual “Scramble for Schools” Golf Tournament attracted over 100 participants on May 28.

The annual fundraiser brings in thousands of dollars to help Smoky Hill Education Service Center provide education services to more than 50 school districts in Kansas. A tradition nearly as old as Smoky Hill ESC itself, the tournament at the Salina Municipal Golf Course has grown to be one of the largest in the area.

Hundreds of door prizes from generous area donors went to the participants, including the grand prize of a suite experience at a Wichita Wind Surge baseball game donated by Hutton Construction!

Other top prizes included a gift certificate for a 4-person golf cart rental at the Salina Country Club ($450 value), a gift card to SKY/LEAP Entertainment ($250 value), and a 3-month unlimited MVP membership at Club Car Wash ($120 value).

Prizes also went to the top golfers during the luncheon that concluded the tournament. The highest-ranking teams were as follows:

     B Flight, Third Place: Nathan Sutter, Shad Jacobs, Jacob Waldman, and Shane Berggren from Nex-Tech Wireless.

     B Flight, Second Place: John Zamecnik, Scott Doyal, Gary Creollo, and Eric Bergman from Cox Team.

     B Flight, First Place: David George, Joyce Hake, Tami Dunham, and Ty Little from Bennington State Bank.

     A Flight, Third Place: Kyle Beisner, Rodney Palen, Garry Lowry, and Casey Seyfert from Beloit USD #273 and sponsored by STOPit Solutions. 

     A Flight, Second Place: Bill Duncan, Kyle Stroda, Ben Schmitz, and Jeff Stos from Birdies Before Babies.

     A Flight, First Place: Eric Hawk, Spencer Greene, Cal Smith, and Trent Schneider from Smoky Hill Financial Group.

     Championship Flight, Third Place: Jake Montoya, Bob Warkentine, Darrel Dees, and Curtis Demars from Quadmigos.

     Championship Flight, Second Place: Dan Cerny, Doug Durr, Dan Goble, and Nathan Cerny from 3 Ds & N. 

     Championship Flight, First Place: Larry Root, Stan Knipp, Dale Knipp, and Mitch Knipp from 3 + 1.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Thank you to all the participants, donors, volunteers, and supporters who helped make this year’s fundraiser a huge success!